And Then…. ( Part – I )

download

“Hello Mr. Becker. Please take seat.”, said Dr Kaufmann in a cordial voice. “What happened?”. “It’s the same thing again doc.”, answered Mr. Becker, with a terror in his voice. Dr. Norman Kaufmann was now surprised. Despite his knowledge and 25 years of experience in handling number of weird and difficult cases of psychology, this was something which left him clueless. “This is really strange. Though I already know the issues, there’s no harm in telling your whole experience again. You know, there may be some minute details, which I may have missed.”.

Mr. Becker took a deep breath, cleared his throat and began his story, ” Doc, you know that I am facing a strange problem. I am seeing a dream – repeating everyday. This is what I saw yesterday. I am trying to express every detail I recall.

I felt at first I was floating adrift. The only thing I could see was the clear sky above. I was moving randomly without any destination, just like a lost ship. It seemed peaceful, relaxing. All of a sudden a series of waves seemed to emerge right beside me. They were huge and came down roaring towards me. I couldn’t understand what or why it was happening. Suddenly a voice instructed me out of nowhere, “Run Andrew run!!”. I started running wildly and voice continued to guide me. I didn’t recognize the voice but it seemed, very strangely, the voice knew me!! The instructions led me to a house. It was a two storied house, worn out due to it’s age and seemingly abandoned. I was about to enter through the gate – just then, a person came out of the house to take me inside. And just at that moment I heard a sound from behind. I turned around and saw a stranger with a gun in his hand, guarding the main gate. Just in front of the house, two graves were dug. The person who came out of the house, tried to save me but a blasting shot from the stranger’s gun took him out. I shrieked in fear and tried to run away, but something kept me still by force. I couldn’t move. Then I saw the man shooting at me. I saw a splash of blood coming out of my heart and everything went black.

I woke up in my be, panting hard. After I felt it was a dream, I went to sleep again. But no it was not!! The same sequences repeated again exactly in the same manner!! I was desperately trying to wake up thinking it as a dream, but all efforts were in vain. I was shot again and and everything went blank again. This time, I woke up in my bed again. I pinched myself to understand the I was not dreaming, and finally I was sure that I was not dreaming anymore. For the rest of the night, I just couldn’t sleep. Do something doc – I beg you.”.

The last sentence of Andrew sounded like a heart wrenching plea, begging to stay alive. Dr. Kaufmann was pretty anxious. He had been treating Andrew for a month, but it seemed that the dreams are getting more and more detailed. It was a queer case. This was not an usual case of stress, hallucinations, depression etc. It seemed more serious, intense, deep. It seemed that the roots of this case lay in Andrew’s personal life. He placed his comforting hand on Andrew’s shoulder. “Mr. Becker, don’t get upset. I am here with you. We will definitely solve it. But tell me one thing, I think the second part you said was new, right?”. Andrew nodded, “Yes, it is. I never had this experience of experiencing a dream twice. I am pretty scared now.”. “Don’t be scared. It is only a dream. What we want to find is why you are experiencing this. Stay calm and call me anytime you need. Okay?”

Andrew was somewhat relieved to get Dr. Kaufmann in his side. He told about this dream to his wife and she reacted as if Andrew was drunk. He visited numerous psychologists to get rid of this, but none actually did took the problem seriously until Dr. Kaufmann. So he got up, shook Dr. Kaufmann’s hand cordially and left for home.

After Andrew left, Dr. Kaufmann reclined back in his chair and closed his eyes. He knew no traditional way could solve this. He sensed there were some threads in his dream that needed to be picked up. But what were these threads and how to identify which are useful? He thought and thought and finally decided to call his most ingenious and most reliable school friend, Norby.

To be continued………

Adrift

17 thoughts on “And Then…. ( Part – I )

  1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I imagine too much… But yes this dream was not pure imagination. It was really experienced by me – not same but very similar.
    Glad to know that you love my weird scribbles.. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a lot Sue… Yes I am thinking a lot too.. Let’s see what finally comes out.
    This is something completely new I am trying – out of my comfort zone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks.. I don’t know whether I will be able to write the next part as there has been a big gap in between. So it’s difficult to pick up the the tracks again. But I will try.. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

